5 Bedrooms, 3 1/2 Baths
Nestled just off of Falls Rd., in the quaint community of Rockland Village, sits one of the oldest homes in Baltimore, Taylor’s Hall. At first look, the home looks like a traditional telescope house, with an interesting character that takes a minute to detect. This house, thought to have originally been built around 1697, had been standing for centuries near Padonia Rd in what we all know as Timonium. In 1727, the house was sold to Thomas Cockey, and remained in the family until the mid-1800’s when it was sold to the Padians, Irish immigrants who were influential in founding Texas, MD- and as you might have guessed- the family for whom Padonia Rd. is named.
Contractor and historic preservationist, Martin Azola of Azola Inc. has a remarkable track record of working with Baltimore’s most interesting buildings to restore them to their original glory while employing the latest technologies. In 1986, Marty set about disassembling Taylor’s Hall stone by stone, labeling every piece and every log systematically, salvaging what he could to maintain the stately presence of the home. Original materials such as architectural details, windows, doors, fireplaces and mantles, stairways, molding and woodwork were painstakingly restored and reused.