As Marylanders head to the polls today for the state’s primary, election results are not expected to be out for several days or even weeks.

During the most recent legislative session, the Maryland General Assembly passed a bill that would have allowed election officials to begin counting mail-in ballots eight days before the start of early voting, which began July 7 this year. But Gov. Larry Hogan vetoed it, meaning mail-in ballots cannot be counted until Thursday under current law.

Still, some candidates will be holding election night watch parties after the polls close at 8 p.m.

Governor candidates:

Dan Cox: 17701 Creamery Road, Emmitsburg, MD 21727. RSVP through EventBrite.

Peter Franchot: Campaign HQ at 4831 Tesla Drive, Bowie, MD 20715.

Ashwani Jain: 7945 Annapolis Road, Lanham, MD 20706. RSVP at

John B. King, McGinty’s Public House, 911 Ellsworth Drive, Silver Spring, MD 20910.

Tom Perez: Rooftop of Tommy Joes, 7940 Norfolk Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814.

Baltimore state’s attorney candidates:

Ivan Bates: The Village Learning Place, 2521 St. Paul St., Baltimore, RSVP at

Marilyn Mosby: Melba’s Place, 3126 Greenmount Ave. RSVP at

State comptroller candidates:

Brooke Lierman: Checkerspot Brewing, 1399 S. Sharp St.