Roland Park Country School Honors Academic Achievement

Share the News


Jean Waller Brune, Head of Roland Park Country School, President of the Roland Park Country School Chapter of Cum Laude and District IV Cum Laude Regent is pleased to announce that seventeen students in the Senior and Junior classes were inducted into the School’s Cum Laude Chapter on April 18, 2016 marking the 52nd Anniversary of Cum Laude at RPCS. Delivering the Margareta A. Faissler Lecture at the induction was Cum Laude member and alumna Margaret VanDeusen, 2010.

Dr. Abram W. Harris, Director of the Tome School in Port Deposit, Maryland, founded the Cum Laude Society in 1906 to honor scholarship in secondary schools.  It was originally founded as Alpha Delta Tau: Alpha representing Arete/Excellence; Delta representing Dike/Justice and Taurepresenting Time/Honor. In 1916, the name was changed to Cum Laude (with honor/praise) and incorporated under the laws of the state of Maryland.  Since Dr. Harris and his associates believed that chapters should be established only in schools of superior academic quality, the group moved slowly in granting new chapters. In 1963, Roland Park Country School became the first girls’ school in Maryland to establish a chapter of the Cum LaudeSociety. 

The Motto of the Society stresses excellence, justice and honor in the broadest sense and students who are elected have demonstrated good character, honor and integrity in all aspects of their school life. In addition to students’ academic achievement other factors for membership include: rigorous academic progress, intellectual curiosity, love of learning and the desire to seek academic challenge.

Head of School Jean Waller Brune awarded certificates to the students with the following Cum Laude Charge:

The distinguished record you have made at RPCS has won for you membership in the Cum Laude Society.  This Society is a fellowship of scholars whose purpose is to recognize excellence in academic work.  As you pursue your
education, it is our hope that you will accept the honor of membership in this
Society as a responsibility to make some contribution to the ongoing search
for greater understanding of humans and society.

The following seniors were inducted:

Makenzie Frieman

Katherine Jackson

Blaire Miran

Mary O’Hern

Julia Potter

Emily Roebuck

Megan Schaller

Sarah Shmerler

Gabrielle Woolley

The following juniors were inducted:

Sally Askew

Cassidy Craig

Berit Ginsberg

Charlotte Kim

Hailey Morris

Lexi Orlinsky

Liz Schlerf

Hannah Song

These seniors were inducted last year as juniors:

Taylor Brewer

Lexi Cohen

Nora Feinberg

Eva Frankel

Meghan Quinn

Emma Ubriaco

Lexi Wolfe

Casey Wong

Chris Frederick

Share the News