Tag: jake’s law

Tickets Issued to Distracted Drivers in Maryland Have Tripled

4

cellphone-driving

Ever since using a cellphone while driving became a primary offense in Maryland — meaning distracted drivers could be pulled over for cellphone use alone — police across the state have tripled the number of tickets they’ve issued to gabby motorists. It’s $83 for the first offense, then $140, then $160. Then your loved ones stage an intervention to try to convince you to get with the program.

So, yes, you really better hang up the phone and drive. But not because of the fine. The fine is nothing compared with the risk of an accident and the tragedy that might entail. And come October, distracted driving that causes “a serious or fatal crash” could come with jail time.

This Texting-and-Driving Story from a Baltimore Mom Will Break Your Heart

1

dont-text-and-drive

We all know that we shouldn’t be texting and driving — and, hey, now it’s even more illegal in Maryland! — but many of us do it anyway. Maybe this story will be the thing that inspires you to quit once and for all.

Baltimorean Susan Yum was driving north on 83 with her husband and two children a few days after Christmas in 2011, when they were struck from behind by an SUV going 62 mph. I’ll let her tell the next part:

Guides