Starting on October 1 (this Wednesday), a number of new laws take effect in Maryland. They involve drugs, discrimination, domestic violence, and driving. Read on to be reminded how not to run afoul of the law:
Marijuana decriminalization. Stoners, rejoice: As of this week, if you’re caught with less than 10 grams of marijuana, you’ll face civil charges (instead of criminal ones). First time offenders can expect a $100 fine, rising to $500 the third time you get caught.
Transgender discrimination. Maryland’s transgender residents will now be protected when seeking housing, employment, credit, and/or use of public accommodations. Excellent news.
Domestic violence. The state’s punishments for domestic violence are getting tougher in a number of ways. Maryland had been the only state in the entire country to require a ultra-high standard of proof, or “clear and convincing” evidence, to get a protective order; under the new policy, “a preponderance of the evidence” will suffice. And anyone who commits an act of domestic violence in front of a child could face up to five extra years in prison.
Texting while driving. Hey, readers: Don’t text and drive! As of this week, if you cause an accident because you were texting or talking on your cell phone, you face extra penalties of up to a year in jail and a $5,000 fine.
Latest posts by Rachel Monroe (see all)
- The Effect of a Dilapidated Home on a Baltimore Block - September 19, 2017
- The Ku Klux Klan Is Apparently Still Alive and Well in Maryland - August 24, 2017
- Baltimore May Be Getting a Professional Soccer Team - September 16, 2016